The 8th edition of the **International Conference on e-Health** (part of the IADIS Multi Conference on Computer Science and Information Systems) was held in Funchal, Madeira, Portugal, during **1 -3 July, 2016**.

This conference was organized by the International Association for Development of the Information Society (IADIS).

This conference focuses on the notion that the use of ICTs (Information and Communication Technologies) in Healthcare Services is the main mechanism to improve efficiency and effectiveness. Therefore, the e-Health 2016 conference aimed to draw together information systems, practitioners and management experts from all quadrants involved in developing computer technology to improve healthcare quality. Submissions were accepted under the following 3 main areas in the field of e-health: Research Issues, Management Issues and Applications.



This edition received 124 submissions from more than 28 countries. Each submission was anonymously reviewed by an average of five independent reviewers, to ensure that accepted submissions were of a high standard. Consequently, only 20 full papers were approved which means an acceptance rate of 16%. A few more papers were accepted as short papers, reflection papers and posters.

Extended versions of the best papers were selected to be published in:

the IADIS International Journal on WWW/Internet (IJWI). ISSN: 1645-7641



 IADIS International Journal on Computer Science and Information Systems (ISSN: 1646-3692)

In addition to the presentation of the papers, this event also included a keynote presentation by Dr. Malcolm J. Fisk, Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Computing and Responsible Research, De Montfort University, Leicester and Director, Telehealth Quality Group EEIG, UK

Keynote Presentation:



PUTTING THE PATIENT MORE IN CONTROL: A CHANGING PERSPECTIVE FOR ICT AND TELEHEALTH

by Dr Malcolm J. Fisk, Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Computing and Responsible Research, De Montfort University, Leicester and Director, Telehealth Quality Group EEIG, UK

In general, this edition offered once again a great opportunity to all their participants to discuss with success the most significant aspects regarding the theme e-Health. It served as a forum that gathered researchers, practitioners, students and anyone that was working or studying in the field of ICTs in Healthcare Services.

The e-Health 2016 Conference was published in hard copy (ISBN: 978-989-8533-53-1) by IADIS Press.



Program Committee Members:

Abdel-Badeeh M.Salem, Ain Shams University, Egypt

Adel Taweel, Kings College, UK

Alain Pruski, Lcoms Université de Lorraine, France

Alexander Hoerbst, UMIT – University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and

Technology, Austria

Amir Hajjam el hassani, University of Technology of Belfort Montbeliard, France

Andreas Schrader, University of Lübeck, Germany

Anja Henner, Oulu University of Applied Sciences, Finland

Antonio Lanatà, University of Pisa, Italy

Athina Lazakidou, University of Peloponnese, Greece

Bennoor Kazi, National Institute of Diseases of Chest & Hospital, Bangladesh

Bert-Jan van Beijnum, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Bobak Jack Mortazavi, Yale School of Medicine, USA

Bridget Kane, Karlstad University, Sweden

Carlos Fernández Llatas, Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain

Cesar Caceres Taladriz, Rey Juan Carlos University, Spain

David Isern, University Rovira I Virgili, Spain

Edward Kacki, Imia, Poland

Elena Villalba, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Elske Ammenwerth, UMIT – University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and Technology, Austria

Emmanuel Andres, Université de Strasbourg , France

Enzo Pasquale Scilingo, University of Pisa, Italy

Eric Campo, Laas-cnrs, France

Farid Naït-Abdesselam, Paris Descartes University, France

Fernando Martin-sanchez, Weill Cornell Medicine, USA

Georg Duftschmid, Medical University of Vienna, Austria

George Georgiev, University of Wisconsin, USA

George Ghinea, Brunel University, UK

Guillaume Lopez, Aoyama Gakuin University, Japan

Jan Vejvalka, Charles University, Czech Republic

Jesuk Ko, Gwangju University, South Korea

Jose Luis Sanchez , Laboratorio de Computadoras y Control, Spain

Karla Navarro, Faculty of Engineering And Information Technology, Australia

Krzysztof Zielinski, Agh-University of Science And Technology, Poland

Laurent Billonnet, Ensil – Université de Limoges, France

Lenka Lhotska, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic

Lina F. Soualmia, LITIS-TIBS EA 4108, France

Lucy Hederman, Trinity College Dublin, Ireland

Magí Lluch-Ariet, Eurecat, Catalonia

Malina Jordanova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria

Manolis Tsiknakis, Computational Medicine Laboratory of ICS-FORTH, Greece

Maria Mirto, University of Lecce, Italy

Mario Cannataro, University, Italy

Mariusz Duplaga, Jagiellonian University Medical College, Poland

Martin Beer, Sheffield Hallam University, UK

Michael Schumacher, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Western Switzerland, Switzerland

Miguel Angel Rodriguez-Florido, Instituto Tecnologico de Canarias, Spain

Mirjana Ivanovic, University of Novi Sad, Serbia

Miroslav Bursa, Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Czech Republic

Nabil Alshurafa, UCLA, USA

Nadine Vigouroux, IRIT, CNRS 5505, Paul Sabatier University, Toulous, France

Navid Amini, UCLA, USA

Nikolaos Mastellos, Imperial College London, UK

Paivi Hamalainen, The National Institute for Health and Welfare, Finland

Panayiotis Kyriacou, City University London, UK

Patricia Sánchez González, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain

Pedro Pablo Escobar, Intelymec Group, UNCPBA, Argentina

Pekka Ruotsalainen, Tampere University, School of Informatics Science, Finland

Peter Kokol, University of Maribor, Slovenia

Peter Weller, Centre For Health Informatics, UK

Petra Povalej Brzan, University of Maribor, Slovenia

Pierre Barralon, Tecnalia, Spain

Roberto Hornero, University of Valladolid, Spain

Salvatore Flavio Pileggi, INRIA & UPMC-LIP6, France

Sandra Bringay, Um3, Université Paul-Valéry, France

Sandro Scattareggia, Signo Motus Srl, Italy

Sauciuc Dragos, IMOGEN, Romania

Shabbir Syed Abdul, Taipei Medical University and National Yang Ming University, Taiwan

Silvia Alayon, Universidad de La Laguna, Spain

Sylvain Giroux, Université de Sherbrooke, Canada

Tacha Serif, Yeditepe University, Turkey

Vaclav Chudacek, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic

Vaclav Kremen, Czech Institute of Informatics, Robotics and Cybernetics, Czech Republic

Vicente Traver Salcedo, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain

Vivian Vimarlund, Linköpings University and Jönköping International Business School, Sweden

Wendy Maccaull, St. Francis Xavier University, Canada

Yiqiang Chen, Institute of Computing Technology, China